If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.

tumblr_myqlckTrpj1r6bchgo1_1280

Hello!

Hurray, it’s hump day! Just a little more to inch through, guys. :)

Today I am here to publicly declare my food challenge for the Summer (and hopefully long after that too). After some thinking and a whole lot of going back and forth I’ve decided that I’m going vegetarian.

Are you crazy?! Why?

I’ve been finding it particularly difficult to keep my eating habits in check of late and after looking into my dietary habits, I’ve noticed that a lot of that unhealthiness comes from meat. Now, I am in no way, shape, or form saying that a non-vegetarian diet is unhealthy. I’m just having a lot of difficulty maintaining a healthy lifestyle while being a non-vegetarian because meat introduces tons and tons of unhealthy options as opposed to a vegetarian diet.

I thought it would be worth mentioning that I did consider continuing with white meats (chicken and seafood) and dropping only red meat (pork, beef), as was suggested by many of my friends and family. However, since I don’t regularly eat beef and pork anyway, that doesn’t do me much good. All the fried chicken and buttered shrimp in the world is just too much for me to handle.

The logic behind my decision:

To give this decision some perspective… as someone who’s been oddly fussy about eating any vegetables all my life, in large social settings (like the mall), where fast food is available in abundance (and that’s an understatement), the easiest and most obvious options for a meal involve some kind of battered/deep-fried meat, tossed in a bunch of sauces and wrapped up in refined bread. Now, I know this displays awful self-control on my part, but, it’s just not as easy going for the grilled options when a burger is staring me right in the face. Now, if I were a vegetarian… where fast food is concerned, I’d be looking at a veggie burger. And I really, really hate veggie burgers. I would much rather eat prior to leaving the house or go with some of the creative and healthy vegetarian options at the mall. I mean, have you seen the wild things they’ve concocted at some joints these days? It’s crazy! And I mean good crazy!

Am I really just giving up on meat altogether?

No, actually, I’m not. To introduce some balance and more importantly maintain moderation, I’ve decided that I will refrain from eating meat during the week and allow myself to indulge just a little bit on the weekends, if and only if I really feel the need to.

I have been eating meat for nearly 2o years, so even attempting to stop eating it completely would be incredibly foolish on my part.

My experience so far…

I’ve purposely held off on this post for a few days because I wanted to try out being a vegetarian before failing in direct view of the public eye. Anyway, it’s been four days since I started this vegetarian venture and it has not been bad at all. Seriously. I’ve craved chicken maybe once, but I expected it to be so so so much worse.

Since my university has even more restrictive options than usual during the summer semesters, I’ve only had the chance to try the Veggie Delite Subway (which was meh) on campus. Other than that, it’s actually been a lot of fun creating and ordering all these colourful and healthy meals! They’re also super nice to Instagram (Yes, I am the kind of girl that Instagrams a lot of her food #sorryimnotsorry).

Here’s a snippet of my snack from the depressing Spain vs. Chile match earlier today. I had the grilled portobello mushroom stuffed with vegetables and goat cheese from Localista, a Canadian-based chain of food trucks. To anyone in GTA, Ontario – they had some spectacular and original options to offer so you should definitely stop by if you ever spot them! I promise you won’t be disappointed.

photo-1

That’s all from me for today, folks!

If any of you have some recipes to suggest in the comment box, I’d be super appreciative! Since I’m new to the vegetarian scene and am not particularly good at improvising where veggies are concerned, anything would be helpful.

Thanks for stopping by, stay awesome!

About Karuna Israni

Going into my third year at UofT, aspiring writer, desperately trying to get back into shape, traveller, amateur photographer (aka iPhone owner/ Instagram account holder)
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

