Dubai

photo

Hiatus explained…

Holy hell, it’s been a while since I last posted!

First, I apologize for the long gaps between posts of late. I flew back to Dubai (home for me) from Canada on the 1st of the month and have been settling in/getting over jet lag ever since. As hard as it has been saying no to authentic Lebanese shawarmas, I have maintained my vegetarian vow and worked out regularly ever since coming back home. Yay me!

Meals

I’ll take you on a little tour of what my meals have been like in the last week or so but FIRST (let me take a… just kidding) I’d just like to point out that there’s really nothing better than being pampered with your mother’s home-cooked food after six months of having to fend for yourself with nearly expired groceries. I appreciate her food more with every trip I make back from university. Ask anyone in university and I guarantee they will tell you the same thing.

My breakfasts are still pretty standard… omelettes and oatmeal, with the occasional appearance of a bowl of Choco Pops (aka Chocos, Chocapic). Never say no to Choco Pops, ever.

photo 1Pictured: Two-egg omelet w/ green chilli, onion, and coriander and two slices whole wheat bred.

With lunches and dinners, there’s been a much larger occurrence of Indian food than usual and I am not about to complain. I’ve had such a severe lack of flavourful food in my life that my spice tolerance has literally dropped down to zero. I make a right shameful Indian, don’t I? Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to hold my hunger long enough to capture all the delish desi grub I’ve been gobbling down BUT I did manage a snippet of my pasta from dinner the other day at a vegetarian multi-cuisine restaurant not far from where I live called Fussion.

photo 3 Pictured: Penne pasta in rosé sauce w/ mushrooms, broccoli, and baby corn

Gym

I’ve been kicking my ass twice as hard at the gym this past week since I no longer have ANY excuses whatsoever… no school, no exams, nothing! As far as workouts go, I’ve decided to dedicate a separate post altogether to my current routine, so look out for that. It’s super intense and honestly really difficult to keep up with but it feels ah-mazing!

I also (hopefully) plan on doing a progress post in the next week or two so if anyone’s wondering if everything I do is actually worth it, hang around and you’ll find out (you and me both).

I’ll end this with a snack I had earlier in the day…

photo 2

Pictured: Two whole kiwi fruit, peeled and sliced.             

Don’t forget to check back for my new workout regime and potential progress pics! I promise to be more regular with my posts now that I’m properly on vacation and really have my head in the whole fitness game.

Hit me up with a like or comment if you liked this post and have suggestions for anything else you’d like to hear about.

Thanks for reading, stay awesome!

About Karuna Israni

Going into my third year at UofT, aspiring writer, desperately trying to get back into shape, traveller, amateur photographer (aka iPhone owner/ Instagram account holder)
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

