An ode to friends that work out (and other stuff)

Screen Shot 2014-07-014

Happy Sunday, everybody!

Today, I’d like to start by saying thank heavens for friends that work out. There is literally no better motivation to workout than a good gym buddy and till date I can say that I’ve been lucky enough to have had two. One pre-university in 2012, and the other right now, post-sophomore year. This Summer, having someone with the same goals that is more motivated to reach those goals than I am has meant 1) much more time in the gym and 2) that I’ve pushed past a lot of my limits while working out.

New workout…

As I mentioned in my previous post, I recently started following a workout routine that is seriously intense and difficult to keep up with. That workout is… Focus T25 by Shaun T. (yea, the same guy that came up with Insanity). There hasn’t been a single day that I haven’t called this man crazy at least ten times during the 25-minute long workout videos. My friend is someone that’s pretty high on a fitness/stamina/activeness scale whereas I consider myself pretty average on the same scale and this workout kills us…both.

30 Day Shred vs. Focus T25:

Having personally attempted both Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and Shaun T’s Focus T25 I have noted some clear differences in the workouts themselves and the results they’ve delivered. Please note that the opinions I’m about to express are subject to my experience and improvements that I personally noted, and that you or anyone else could see different results. 

30 day shred

In a nutshell, the 30 day shred consists of 3 levels of increasing intensity each to be executed for 10 days. It delivers a workout far more oriented to strength training than cardio, in spite of included cardio intervals. I’ll admit that I never made it the entire the 30 day stretch, so it’s impossible for me to comment on the changes caused by all three levels of the routine. What I will say, though, is that in the 12-15 odd days that I was able to keep up with this Jillian Michaels workout, I saw a marked difference in muscle definition and toning up of areas like my legs and abdomen.

The downside to the 30 day shred was that it got pretty monotonous listening to the same “You can do it, I’m right here doing it with you!” for 10 days at a time. I often found myself hitting mute on Jillian Michaels and playing some music in the background instead. Not only was her voice uber boring, but doing the same movements day in and day out don’t do miracles to motivate you either.

Focus T25

Shaun T.’s T25 consists of three stages as well –  Alpha, Beta and Gamma – each of which last a couple of weeks (4-5). I haven’t been following the schedule for this workout, and have instead just been picking and choosing the workouts that I feel are of my preferred level of intensity (mainly Beta level workouts). As far as results go, it’s been nearly two weeks since I started doing T25 regularly and while I haven’t seen much difference in muscle tone, I have dropped a few odd pounds.

The big difference (and downside for me) between the 30DS and T25 is a huge leap in the amount of cardio Shaun T. pushes you to complete. It’s insane. Unfortunately for me, I have awful allergies (to dust and my dogs) that have burdened me with zero stamina and make me wheeze when I partake in excessive physical activity. In case that didn’t make it clear enough – cardio is a big no no for me, at least until I reach a particular level of physical fitness.

After running through this little pro’s and con’s list, it seems like the 30 Day Shred might be a better fit in my case.

However, I will say that the 30 day shred looks to be a brilliant solution for lack of time if you’re looking to tone up (and not lose as much fat). If you want to shed a larger number of pounds before gaining muscle, consider a Shaun T. style workout while still squeezing your daily exercise in to a 25-minute time frame. 

As always, thanks for taking the time to read my two cents on life. Do let me know about the different experiences you’ve had with these trainers and their workouts or simply give me a thumbs up if you feel I deserve it! :)

See you next time, stay awesome! xo

About Karuna Israni

Going into my third year at UofT, aspiring writer, desperately trying to get back into shape, traveller, amateur photographer (aka iPhone owner/ Instagram account holder)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An ode to friends that work out (and other stuff)

  1. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

